tuesday treats

These ham and cheese sliders are so delicious that I’m having a hard time thinking of something sarcastic to say about them. They required a bib to eat, but barely anything to make. I used this recipe as a rough starting point, but, as always, I got lazy…err…creative and found some shortcuts to make the process cheaper and faster. If you’re a play by the rules kind of kid, feel free to disregard the rest of this post and make them by the book. Or you could take a walk on the wild side and try mine. OR if you’re really adventurous you could try both recipes and tell me which came out better. (If it wasn’t mine, lie to me or you’ll crush my insecure-beginners-chef-ego. I need the validation.) Either way, they’re a must eat. Bon appetit!

Ingredients:

-Some sort of store brand “brown and bake” rolls. You know, they’re, like, mini buns that are cooked almost all the way through but you’re supposed to put them in the oven to brown them up a little before serving.

-honey ham

-swiss cheese

-1/3 cup mayo (I didn’t use miracle whip because I hate it on its own and didn’t want to buy a whole jar, as I knew I wasn’t going to use it after the completion of this recipe. But if you have some at home already, I would have liked to see how this tasted with the miracle whip included so LEMME KNOW BBIEZ.)

-1 tbsp minced onion

-1/2 tsp. Worschestershire sauce

-4 tbsp melted butter

-Poppy seed salad dressing

Directions:

-Preheat oven to whatever temperature is on the back of the brown and serve box, probably around 350*.

-Slice rolls open and spread some mayo onto both sides of the center of each roll.

-Wedge a piece of ham and a slice of cheese in between each of the rolls and close. Align rolls close together into a baking dish or deep cookie sheet.

-In a medium bowl, whisk together the poppyseed dressing, butter, worschestershire dressing, and onion. Pour evenly overtop the rolls.

-Cover dish with tinfoil and place in oven to bake for about 15-20 minutes.

-Uncover, and cook for an additional 2 minutes. Serve warm.

2 responses to “tuesday treats

  1. I gave up meat for lent. BUT we always have ham for Easter dinner and I will definitely be trying your version. The anticipation is KILLING me.

Leave a comment