Everyday is B’Day.

While most people commit to self improvement by incorporating things like a brisk walk, a hearty breakfast, a strong cup of coffee, or an NPR station into their morning routines, I commit to self improvement by emulating Beyonce. In small ways (humming the intro to “Irreplaceable”) or big ways (A full on hair whipping, booty popping, sweat dripping three number set of “Check on It,” “Freakum Dress,” and “Crazy In Love” in front of my stuffed animals) every day I find a way to hail to my patron saint of self-confidence, in hopes that her immortal Sasha Fierceness will in some way rub off on me. Today is no exception. So as a token of your unyielding loyalty to my blog, I’m offering you, my readers, the precious gift of a big “Ego” compliments of my ‘Queen Bey.’

(Do me a favor and don’t listen if you’re not prepared to at least throw a finger wag and a shimmy shake from your computer chair. Half hearted divas need not apply.)

Best of Beyonce

Upgrade U- Casually play this the next time you’re in the car with your crush who’s currently dating someone that’s totally wrong for them.

Check on It feat. SlimThug- Standard dancefloor-to-bedroom etiquette for respectable thugs and biddies.

Flaws and All- I’m going to leave a link for the video here. If you don’t get a little bit gooey and want to date her after looking at all her quirky faces then I’m sorry but you just don’t have a heart. Good for reminding yourself that you’re not perfect, and neither is anyone else in your life.

Bills, Bills, Bills- You’re not perfect, and neither is anyone else in your life, but there’s a difference between being charmingly flawed and a straight up scrub. It’s a fine line. (I should know, I’m walking it.)

Me, Myself, and I- There’s nothing more rewarding than finding your inner strength. Advice from other people is good, but don’t ever forget that you’re your own best friend!

Freakum Dress- Raise your hand if you’re a woman and you’ve ever played the “the best revenge is being the hottest girl in the room” game. I know. Me too.

Halo- Whoever that beautiful light skinned, blue eyed man in the music video is needs to contact me ASAP. I have his, uh, I mean. I wanted to talk to him about… I mean, Hi. I’m Meghan.

’03 Bonnie & Clyde- It’s true that this duet marked the beginning of a defining era of my life (mainly the phase where I was love stricken, laughably RnB, and desperate for a ‘ride or die’ partner), but I think my fifteen year old self totally missed the point. Don’t let the “boyfriend and girlfriend” laden lyrics fool you; this song isn’t just about a boy girl relationship, but rather a celebratory song for anyone who’s ever stuck by your side through a sticky situation. Obvious bonus points for a SATC reference, and a shining Exhibit A that Bonnie & Clyde relationships can be about you and your besties.

Ring the Alarm-  Oooh, girl, you kinda cute when you mad.

Listen- Kyle likes to point out the colloquial difference in the way I say “listen” whereas people around here say “look.” Ex: “Look. I know you’re sad, but get over it.” vs “Listen. I know you’re sad, but get over it.” Is this a MD thing, or a Meghan thing? I’m not sure. Just tryna find my own.

Ego- I cannot express my love for thinly veiled sexual validations enough. Kanye’s intro verse kills me. Thinking about what this says about Jay Z kills me. Favorite Power Couple 2kFOREVER.

If I Were a Boy- Mostly because I find myself thinking of ways to cross/break down gender barriers on a daily basis.

Say My Name- If you don’t have fond memories of this playing at some middle school dance function, you went to the wrong school.

Diva- What this playlist is all about, people.

Crazy in Love- My first memory of Beyonce as a solo artist (It might actually be her first solo debut, or it might just be the first time I remember seeing her on MTV sans Kelly and Michelle). Whatever, all I know is I wanted a silk letterman jacket and matching baseball cap for years after.

Swing Low Sweet Chariot- I saw The Fighting Temptations, I think, but I just don’t believe Beyonce in any roll that tries to make her look more homely and less fabulous than she really is. She played a humble waitress or naive church choir girl or something, but her rendition of “Swing Low Sweet Chariot” has the elaborate runs and harmonies on par with her real life diva status.

Irreplaceable- Of all the angry power ballads and flirty club jams she has blessed us with over the years, “Irreplaceable” is the Holy Grail. The founding fathers had nothing on this Declaration of Independence. It makes me feel invincible to remind myself that you’re replaceable.

Soldiers- I might be offering an unfavorable opinion on this one, but as far as I’m concerned this is only thing that Lil Wayne is good for besides “A Milli” and his verse in Keri Hilson’s “Turnin’ Me On.” It’s got the trademark “Wheezy F. Baby” line that I love so much, and hey it’s also a semi-intelligible set of lyrics that doesn’t liken sex to “dipping celery in blue cheese.” Wheezy die hards, hate on.

Bonus Track: Sandcastle Disco by Solange Knowles- Um, Beyonce’s little sister Solange isn’t just the voice of Penny Proud. She’s also a singer, and quite good if you like retro dance tracks and (blasphemously) think Beyonce is “too mainstream.”

2 responses to “Everyday is B’Day.

  1. Ahh, love it all! Perfect paper-writing-diva motivation.

    ps: i say “listen” instead of “look,” too. my aunt says it. guess it’s a pittsburgh thing, too

Leave a comment